The Best Vision is Insight

Many years ago, I was given the task to take photos at my daughter’s ballet recital. This seem like an easy task but because of the low lighting, special effects and fast motion, it was much more difficult than I expected. The goal to create some great shots of my little dancer really challenged me to master the conditions of the recital hall.

I hope you'll dance

Over the years, I guess I took thousands of dance photos with many of my shots that just had to be deleted for such poor quality. Then one day – I realized that I had finally developed a collection of beautiful dance moments that show the wonderful progression of time and skill level. A few years later, my wife and I created a photo book called “My Dancing Shoes” which featured a collection of these photos and we gave it to my daughter. Her reaction to this photo book gift will be a memory I will cherish forever – a beautiful moment that made all the effort worth it. There is a moment for everyone where you take time to reflect on all the effort and enjoy the fact that you have finally reached the vision you had when you started.

Vision – It reaches beyond the thing that is, into the conception of what can be. Imagination gives you the picture. Vision gives you the impulse to make the picture your own.” ~ Robert Collier

Here is the leadership lesson I learned from that experience.

1. Life is full of special moments – take time to enjoy them with others.
2. Persistence is the key to building long term success in any difficult task.
3. The closer you can get to the action – the more details you will be able to see.
4. The hard work of others is more difficult to see the farther away you sit from the action.
5. Participating in the dance with your team can give you far more appreciation for the level of difficulty.

When you dance, your purpose is not to get to a certain place on the floor. It’s to enjoy each step along the way.” ~ Wayne Dryer

So I hope you’ll learn to dance …

Running to win…GTR

Posted in Uncategorized

2 thoughts on “The Best Vision is Insight

    • Watching you dance has inspired me to want to capture that moment. When you pour yourself into something – others are drawn by that commitment. Your desire for excellence made me proud…

Leave a Reply

